November 7, 2018

Announcing the winners of the Facebook Continuous Reasoning research awards

By: Meta Research

We are pleased to announce the winners of the Facebook Continuous Reasoning Research Awards. At Facebook, our teams have been working on applying formal reasoning methods in practice in the last five years. In this time, one approach stands out as having made the biggest difference in applying formal methods at scale: continuous reasoning.

While we have seen benefits from continuous reasoning, industrial deployments are going beyond the usual assumptions of the scientific field. Our research teams were interested in proposals that address fundamental problems in the area.

The five Facebook Continuous Reasoning award winners and their topics are:

An AI-based System for Continuously Discovering Software Bugs
Mayur Naik (University of Pennsylvania)

Continuous and Incremental Performance Modeling
Jürgen Cito (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Martin Rinard (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Mike Dodds (Galois) and Stephen Magill (Galois)

JaVerT 2.0: Automatic Compositional Analysis for JavaScript
Philippa Gardner, Jose Fragoso Santos, Petar Maksimovic (Imperial College London)

Continuous Reasoning: Differential Concurrency Analysis
Jeff Huang (Texas A&M University – College Station)

ReCoqtion: Meta-Certified Continuous Program Verification
Zachary Tatlock (University of Washington) and Karl Palmskog (University of Texas at Austin)

To view our currently open research awards and to subscribe to our Research Awards email list, visit our Research Awards page.