February 2, 2022

Announcing the recipients of the 2022 Meta PhD Research Fellowship

By: Meta Research

The Meta PhD Research Fellowship program awards PhD candidates conducting cutting-edge research in emerging topics across computer science and engineering, including AI system hardware/software co-design, blockchain and cryptoeconomics, human-computer interaction, programming languages, and AR/VR future technologies.

To support students’ commitment to furthering research in some of Meta’s key interest areas, the program offers full coverage of students’ tuition and university fees for up to two academic years, as well as a $42,000 stipend.

Fellows are also invited to attend the annual Meta PhD Fellowship Summit, where they’ll have the opportunity to present their own research, discover more about the impact of current research at Meta, and build connections with Meta researchers and fellow award winners. As in 2021, this year’s summit will be held virtually.

Now in its 11th year, the Meta PhD Research Fellowship has supported more than 179 PhD candidates from around the world. This year, we received over 2,300 applications from over 100 universities worldwide, and we selected 37 outstanding Fellows from 24 universities.

Having reviewed one of the most diverse and competitive pools of candidates to date, we proudly congratulate this year’s winners, and we thank everyone who took the time to submit an application.

2022 Meta PhD Fellows

AI System HW SW Co-Design

Yucheng Lu
Cornell University

Qinyi Luo
University of Southern California

Kabir Nagrecha
UC San Diego

Lianmin Zheng
UC Berkeley

Finalists: Saeed Rashidi, Georgia Institute of Technology; Yiltan Hasan Temucin, Queen's University; Anish Acharya, UT Austin; Fan Lai, University of Michigan; Xiangning Chen, UCLA; Jian Weng, UCLA

Applied Statistics

Amanda Lee Coston
Carnegie Mellon University

Praneeth Vepakomma
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Finalists: Yi Ding Jiang, Carnegie Mellon University; Tolga Ergen, Stanford University; Ayush Sekhari, Cornell University; Nataly Brukhim, Princeton University

AR/VR Computer Graphics

Joey Litalien
McGill University

Suyeon Choi
Stanford University

Finalists: Zekun Hao, Cornell University; Sai Praveen Bangaru, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Qianqian Wang, Cornell University; Mianlun Zheng, University of Southern California; Shinyoung Yi, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

AR/VR Future Technologies

Janghee Cho
University of Colorado Boulder

Erik Wolf
University of Wuerzburg

Finalists: Laura Boffi, Università di Ferrara; Matthew Gottsacker; University of Central Florida

AR/VR Human Computer Interaction

Yasha Iravantchi
University of Michigan

Dishita Turakhia
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Finalists: Paul Streli, ETH Zurich; Niall Williams, University of Maryland College Park; Zane Anthony Zook, Rice University; Karan Ahuja, Carnegie Mellon University; Wen-Jie Tseng, Télécom Paris – Institut Polytechnique de Paris; Ryan Louie, Northwestern University

AR/VR Human Understanding

Lucy Chai
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Julian Chibane
Max Planck Institute for Informatics/University of Tubingen

Boyang Deng
Stanford University

Yufeng Zheng
ETH Zurich

Finalists: Patrick Lin Grady, Georgia Institute of Technology; Yu-Ying Yeh, UC San Diego; Cho-Ying Wu, University of Southern California; Hsin-Ping Huang, UC Merced

AR/VR Perception, Cognition, and Action

Karolina Krzys
Queen's University

Finalists: Sara Khorasani, University of Melbourne; John Veillette, University of Chicago

AR/VR Photonics and Optics

Christina Maria Spaegele
Harvard University

Finalists: Mahsa Torfeh, University of Southern California; Kevin Chew Figueroa, University of Arizona

Audio Presence

Armisha Roberts
University of Florida

Finalists: Jonah Casebeer, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; Shoken Kaneko, University of Maryland College Park; Marta Gospodarek, New York University

Augmented Reality Audio

Pranay Manocha
Princeton University

Finalists: Cong Han, Columbia University; Ankit Parag Shah, Carnegie Mellon University; Ranya Aloufi, Imperial College London; Kun Sun, University of Washington

Blockchain and Cryptoeconomics

Neil Giridharan
UC Berkeley

Finalists: Ertem Nusret Tas, Stanford University; Sourav Das, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Tiancheng Xie, UC Berkeley; Shir Cohen, Technion; Kaihua Qin, Imperial College London; Kushal Babel, Cornell University

Computational Social Science

Serina Chang
Stanford University

Finalists: Julia Medelsohn, University of Michigan; Isaac Paul Waller, University of Toronto; Drew Johnston, Harvard University; Simiao Zuo, Georgia Institute of Technology; Cazamere Comrie, Cornell University; Noah Corinthian Jones, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Database Systems

Audrey Cheng
UC Berkeley

Renzhi Wu
Georgia Institute of Technology

Finalists: Kapil Vaidya, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Saehan Jo, Cornell University; Peng Li, Georgia Institute of Technology; Amine Mhedhbi, University of Waterloo

Distributed Systems

Jing Liu
University of Wisconsin

Finalists: Midhul Vuppalapati, Cornell University; Md Hasan Al Maruf, University of Michigan; Ankit Bhardwaj, University of Utah

Economics and Computation

Jaume Vives i Bastida
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Alexander Wei
UC Berkeley

Finalists: Amilcar Enrique Velez Salamanca, Northwestern University; Achraf Bahamou, Columbia University; Marina Knittel, University of Maryland College Park; Roberto-Rafael Maura-Rivero, London School of Economics and Political Science; Antonia Miruna Oprescu, Cornell University; Michela Meister, Cornell University

Human Computer Interaction - Social Media, People, and Society

Nejla Asimovic
New York University

Pengfei Zhao
Cornell University

Finalists: Lauren Gilbert, UC San Diego; Farhana Shahid, Cornell University; Muhammad Masood, City University of Hong Kong; Jimmy Narang, UC Berkeley; Kevin Marc Blasiak, University of Queensland; Samuel Olaniran, University of the Witwatersrand


Qizhe Cai
Cornell University

Stewart Grant
UC San Diego

Finalists: Weiyang Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Yang Zhou, Harvard University; Jingqi Huang, Purdue University; Jiarong Xing, Rice University

Privacy and Data Use

Kaiwen Sun
University of Michigan

Finalists: Jane Im, University of Michigan; Zainab Agha, University of Central Florida

Programming Languages

Iacovos G. Kolokasis
University of Crete

Finalists: Paulette Koronkevich, University of British Columbia; Cheng Zhang, Boston University; Đorđe Žikelić, Institute of Science and Technology Austria

Security and Privacy

Chen Ling
Boston University

Mohammad Yaghini
University of Toronto

Finalists: Harjasleen Malvai, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; Tabitha Ogilvie, Royal Holloway University of London; Ariana Mirian, UC San Diego; Jonathan Takeshita, University of Notre Dame; Alexander Jacob Levine, University of Maryland College Park; Pratik Sarkar, Boston University

Technology Policy Research

Bulelani Jili
Harvard University

Ryan Steed
Carnegie Mellon University

Finalist: Emma Wittenberg Lurie, UC Berkeley